(Reblog) I am Not Charlie: a Christian response to the killings in Paris

This is a reblog of an article by my seminary professor, Bob Ekblad:

I was deeply troubled by news of this week’s killings of journalists at Charlie Hebdo, France’s beloved satirical newspaper, by two French Muslim brothers of Algerian descent, Chérif and Saïd Kouachi. I’ve been haunted by footage I saw of these gunmen’s shooting of a police officer in cold blood on a Parisian street where our good friends live and where we regularly stay. The killing of four hostages in the Jewish kosher grocery store by another jihadist activist, followed by the French police’s shooting of all three gunmen, has made this a traumatic week for France and the world.

Should we be surprised by these killings? Offense, resentment, and shame carried by many young Muslim men and others on the margins today incite rage. In this case, the rage is directed against the dishonoring gaze and mocking words of journalism that appears to consider nothing sacred, except free speech.

Click here to read the full article on Bob’s blog

2 thoughts on “(Reblog) I am Not Charlie: a Christian response to the killings in Paris

  1. Thanks for this reasoned commentary by someone who has had experience in the jails/prisons. It is difficult to walk the line that includes liberty and fraternity. We cannot excuse while attempting to explain. I ask, have we seen enough of Charlie Hebdo’s OTHER cartoons? I have and I think EVERYONE has come under their withering gaze. My question remains, why of all the people offended was it young men who reacted violently?

Leave a comment